ABCs of Death 2 M-P

m is for masticate

Here we have something that was lifted from headline news: the “bath salts zombie (or cannibal)”. I have to say, this was pretty weak. Nowhere near as bad as some of the other segments (looking at you, L is for Legacy), but this is still a disappointment considering this was the winner of a contest. It just feels like Boocheck chose to showcase the least amount of talent possible, and I definitely don’t think it was strong enough to earn a win. It gets 1/5. Instead of laughing at the grand reveal, I felt more annoyed. I asked myself how long this whole bath salts zombie thing is going to go on, but it shows no signs of stopping. Sigh.

n is for nexus

This was…pretty boring. The biggest issue I have is I just don’t care. I get that each director only had 3-5 minutes to create a fleshed out story, but it’s not impossible to do. While watching this all I could think was “Meh”. Why should I care? Yeah, it’s kind of sad that in an instant two people lost loved ones…but that’s it. There’s nothing else about this that really stands out compared to some of other segments. This is the definition of forgettable. I give it 2/5.

o is for ochloracy

At first, I would have bet money this would be the worst segment after L is for Legacy. But I have no problem admitting when I’m wrong. Here zombies are now the majority (hence Mob Rule), and the last humans are being tried and convicted for their crimes against zombie kind. I know it sounds hokey, but it’s pretty funny and somehow the most convincing out of all the segments. I give it 4/5. It’s a great example of how to tell a story in 5 minutes or less, and one of the few times you side with zombies.

p is for p-p-p-p-scary

I may have spoken too soon when I said L is Legacy is the worst segment. First of all, please explain to me how the hell P is for P-P-P-P Scary even makes sense? Don’t worry, I’ll wait. Ignoring the title, let’s look at the segment itself. I’m going to assume Rohal is trying to pay homage to (or probably make fun of) old vaudeville films, while adding Scooby Doo like “scares”. Even then, the scares don’t even come close to making any sort of sense. The only credit I can give is the baby with a man’s face and booming laugh. That would freak anyone out. However, this is still 4 minutes of my life I will never get back. This gets a 0. Todd Rohal, you should be ashamed of yourself for being this damn lazy.

Leave a Reply

