V/H/S 2 (2013)

MV5BODg4OTMxNDAxMV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMjM4ODQ0OQ@@._V1_SX214_I absolutely loved this almost 2 years ago, which resulted in a 5/5 rating. I mean it legitimately creeped me out, each “video” was straight forward, gory and just a lot of fun. I’ve actually watched this a good 6 or 7 times since then, and I have to say I might’ve jumped the gun giving it a perfect rating. Let me start by saying there’s no denying it is a vast improvement from the first V/H/S. It seems to have way more focus that just showcasing random mayhem. Even the acting and overall writing has taken a turn for the better. However…after several watches I noticed something still seems a bit off.

While the writing is better, I have to wonder if it still seems amateurish. Each segment builds suspense, but instead of an actual release, we get gore and murder. You all should know I love my gore, but here it causes everything to be very superficial. This also leads every ending feeling like it was just tacked on just to end it. No real resolution, just the same murder and mayhem from the first one. It does get old after a while. I found myself asking “What else is there?”. And that’s never a good sign when trying to terrify your audience.

I give it 3/5. I still appreciate the fact that everyone seemed to at least try to make a decent movie. The problem is, I’m not sure if this group of writers and directors know how to create anything of substance in a segment format. Each one separately is truly amazing. When lumped together, everything seems fuzzy and sometimes lazy. The thing that really bothers me is this is part two, and we still have no friggin idea as to who or what is creating these godforsaken tapes. I don’t know about you, but something that damn evil deserves a bit more back-story. If you haven’t seen it before, give it a shot just to see something semi different and entertaining.

Leave a Reply

