Unfriended (2015)

unfriended

Yet another movie I did not have high hopes for. It was too long ago that I reviewed The Den, another film warning against the dangers of the internet. So when Unfriended starting making its way in horror news, I really thought it was going the biggest waste of time of 2015. Like I mentioned a couple days ago, horror isn’t doing as well as it could be. I was convinced this was going to another $10 and 90 minutes wasted. I was actually pleasantly surprised. This was a damn good effort. Yes, it has one of the dumbest premises out there. However you have to commend whoever wrote this, as well as the actors that brought the terror to life. I wouldn’t say it’s the scariest movie currently out, but it still gave me the willies.

This is essentially what Kill Theory should have been: proof that being a part of a group of asshole friends is basically an automatic death sentence. Not to mention I was surprised by some of the kills. Don’t always expect traditional methods if you decide to watch this. While I was writing this, I originally gave it 4/5. But then I came across this. For those that don’t feel like clicking the link, it’s an article mentioning allegations from Justin Cole that Unfriended is a rip-off of his film The Upper Footage.

After reading his lengthy explanation, and after being able to watch The Upper Footage, I can’t deny the heavy similarities. I’m not going to sit here and point fingers. That’s not who I am. I’m just going to say it’s sad to see that a movie I actually really liked is basically a carbon copy of someone’s previous work. I honestly suggest just checking out The Upper Footage first (a link to the movie is in the article), but also see Unfriended. I still have to give Unfriended 3/5. It might be very close to someone’s earlier work, but there are some differences that make it enjoyable.

Leave a Reply

