Ocular (2015)

Today marks three years since I got so pissed off at Hellraiser: Revelations that I felt the need to give my two cents on it. I don’t know how many reviews I’ve done, but I will say it has been an interesting ride. Getting involved in writing has allowed me the experience of meeting a whole bunch of other movie fanatics, namely my fellow Horror Geek Dave Brudie. I’ve known him for a little over a year now, and he never ceases to amaze me with his knowledge and recommendations for reviews. Why am I all of a sudden shining light on one individual? Brudie offered me a copy of his short film Ocular, and I can’t think of a better way to highlight three years of reviews than with a friend’s work. I think that’s enough of the mushy crap, so let’s get to the good stuff.

11028129_1013015705380154_655048858_oOne word you’ve probably seen me use repeatedly is “effective”. Whatever I say that, I’m stating whether or not the movie accomplished whatever it set out to do. That being said, “effective” is the best way I can describe Ocular. Yes, it does have moments that are pretty disgusting, but that’s the whole point. It also has a heavy dose of symbolism, but you can understand what’s it’s meant to represent. The entire thing is only 15 minutes long, but I think that’s just enough for it to get the point across. I have to say my favorite thing about it is the soundtrack. It’s like this weird ambient noise that just adds to the discomfort you feel from certain scenes, but it ties together extremely well. Ocular also has the pleasure of getting a Lively Mind first: two ratings.

I personally give it 4/5. I think it’s pretty damn good given how short it is, and because of how much work went into it. Also it made me gag. You all should know me by now. It takes a lot for me to have a physical reaction to something gross. If a movie manages to get a visceral reaction out of me, it must have done something right. For my readers, it hovers between 2/5 and 3/5. I already know it won’t be everyone’s cup of tea. Some will like it for the gross out factor, and others will be annoyed. Some will love the trippy effects that add a surreal haze, and others might think that takes away from the film. I still say give a shot if you have 15 minutes, and if you want to support filmmakers like Brudie, who aren’t afraid to try something new. Ocular is currently available to rent or buy on Amazon.

Leave a Reply

