The Interview (2014)

MV5BMTQzMTcwMzgyMV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMzAyMzQ2MzE@._V1_SX640_SY720_

There are so many ways I can approach this review, but none of them are worth the two hours of stupidity I just sat through. I’m not going the political route, but I do believe the whole “controversy” was just an overambitious publicity stunt. Does anyone else find it a little too convenient that the movie was STILL released after a major information “leak” that cancelled a theatrical release? Think about the buzz that was generated. How many people saw this just because of the decision not to show it in theaters? This is where I get off my high horse because I am one of those people. The Interview was added to Netflix a couple weeks ago, and I decided to watch it. I’m willing to bet money my IQ dropped.

This is one of the few times where I honestly don’t know where to start. It’s totally fine that James Franco and Seth Rogen have a bromance. Some might even find it endearing. But what’s not okay is the fact that they chose a plot that involves killing a notorious dictator, and frequently insulting a whole country. I don’t think that was necessary. Most importantly, this isn’t funny. At all. Not once did I even chuckle. 95% of this is gay jokes, and Franco repeating “Hate us cuz they ain’t us”, which he says that approximately every 2 minutes. Then we get to the real reason for the madness: Kim Jong Un. I’m not rooting for the guy to be portrayed in a positive light, but there’s just something about him being an overgrown man child with daddy issues, and that loves Katy Perry’s Firework that doesn’t sit right with me.

I don’t even know what else to say. I’m not shocked by the subject matter. I’m shocked that something as mind-numbingly stupid as this got so much news and focus. There’s nothing here. It’s two hours worth of bromance and zero substance. I give this 1/5. It’s not funny, edgy, clever, or even remotely interesting. Rogen isn’t horrible acting-wise, but he also didn’t have anything to work with from the start. I’m pretty sure Franco just needs to be institutionalized at this point. Who thought this was a good idea? I would honestly like to know, just so I can find them and beat them for the hours of my life I can never get back. Do yourself a favor: watch anything else except this, and save your IQ.

Leave a Reply

