The Taking of Deborah Logan (2014)

index

I’m not going to start with how “disappointing” the horror genre is becoming (as much as I would love to). I just think it’s a bit unfortunate we’ve been reduced to remakes or sequels that are loosely tied to the first film. So when I heard The Taking of Deborah Logan was actually gaining a decent fan base, I was definitely skeptical. An original script, decent acting, AND camerawork that doesn’t induce seizures? I couldn’t believe it. You all know how I feel about “found footage”, so I wasn’t exactly rushing to see this. But thanks to Netflix and it being too butt ass cold to do anything, I decided to give it a shot. So here’s my burning question: Does it really deserve the attention it’s getting?

Yes…and no. I can’t deny this is damn near perfect for a low budget film. The effects aren’t cartoony or absurd, the acting is pretty good all things considered, and overall it did a great job of giving me the willies. The only thing is it just seems to peter out and die at the end. I don’t know why that bothers me so much, but it does. The movie does an amazing job of spending the first half building the tension and scares, and it doesn’t go for cheap jump scares. I have to give kudos to Gavin Heffernan and Adam Robitel. These guys have a firm grasp of what it means to create the atmosphere, but I think they still need some work when it comes to tying everything together and not relying on tried and true methods to do so.

The last 15 minutes are nothing but your standard (spoiler!) possession tropes that add nothing new to the genre. Also, the end doesn’t make much sense. It’s so choppy that I have to wonder just how much of it ended up on the cutting room floor. Overall, I say it still earns 3/5. It’s creepy, not corny, and it’s still a great effort. I just wished the end had reflected the positive qualities that were laid out in the beginning. I still say give it a watch if you want to be creeped out, but keep in mind you will be underwhelmed at the end.

One thought on “The Taking of Deborah Logan (2014)

Leave a Reply

