Rapid Retrospect 6/23- 6/29

Gravity (2013) 3/5

gravity

During a routine space mission, debris from a satellite hits the shuttle Explorer. Two survivors (Sandra Bullock and George Clooney) then have to try to survive while losing oxygen, and without being able to communicate with Mission Control. I was impressed with how the film looks. It’s gorgeous. I still can’t believe how real it looked. As far as the story goes, don’t expect a whole lot of explanation. You’re supposed to focus on this drawn out metaphor of survival and rebirth, but I just wasn’t a massive fan of how the story was presented. I still say watch it for the visuals because of how beautiful it looks.

Pitch Perfect (2012) 4/5

pitch perfect

Okay, this is basically Bring It On except we have rival a capella groups the Barden Bellas and the Treblemakers. After a major embarrassment happens to the new leader of the Barden Bellas, the group has to work if they want to win the finals of…some singing competition. I think this is hilarious, but I can’t figure out why it’s almost 2 hours long. It’s like the filmmakers decided to just leave everything in instead of keeping the major plot points. However, it’s still a fun movie to watch. I would’ve bet money this was going to be stupid, but I was surprised. If you decide to see it, just try not to take it too seriously. You’ll enjoy it more that way.

Friends with Benefits (2011) 3/5

onesheet

Justin Timberlake and Mila Kunis agree to have sex without any emotional attachment or drama. Since this is a romantic comedy, of course they fall in love but not before a misunderstanding and every other cliché you can think of. The movie starts off very strong, but then it commits the same tropes it aims to poke fun of. However, I was surprised the acting the acting was actually pretty good. You want to believe the chemistry in any movie like this, and the main characters were able to do just that. It’s good to watch just for the funny moments, but don’t expect anything groundbreaking.

Perfume: The Story of a Murderer (2006) 2/5

perfume

Jean-Baptiste Grenouille was born with an unnatural sense of smell. This “gift” turns into an unhealthy obsession, and he eventually finds ways to satisfy his urges by any means necessary. I was intrigued by the plot, mainly because it sounds so weird. The actual movie is a big disappointment. It’s 2 hours and 30 minutes of the main character sniffing naked dead women, something about the ultimate perfume that has mind control powers, and Dustin Hoffman and Alan Rickman are in this but the characters serve no purpose. I’m still lost as to what happened, but from what I’m able to grasp this is just yet another book that did not need to be made into a movie. To be honest if the story ends with a town orgy then a cannibalistic feast, I don’t think the book should exist either.

Silver Linings Playbook (2012) 4/5

silver linings playbook

Pat Solatano (Bradley Cooper) has been diagnosed with bipolar disorder, and has been released from a mental hospital after nearly beating his wife’s lover to death. We watch him attempt to adjust back into society and mend relationships with his estranged wife and family, but even that proves to be difficult after he meets a widow named Tiffany who is just has messed up as he is. I’ll admit that I had zero interest in watching this at first. Most Academy Award winning movies are nothing but 2 hour sedatives, in my book. This is nothing like that. It ranges from comedy, drama, and romance, but it transitions between genres seamlessly. I think this also marks the only time I haven’t found Jennifer Lawrence to be annoying, so I think it’s amazing based on that alone. If you haven’t seen it, you’re missing out.

Red Mist (2008) 1/5

red mist cover

This is probably better known as Freakdog, although it doesn’t make it any better. A group of snooty med students cause a creepy janitor to have a seizure, and he slips into a coma. One of them feels guilty, and injects him with an experimental drug that is supposed to increase brain function. Apparently it works too well because now he has out of body experiences, and can possess people to kill those that put him in his coma. The first problem I had is I kept feeling like I’ve seen something like done before, and I probably saw it done in a more effective way. Second, the plot can be shredded to bits if you think about it logically. A part of the brain that causes out of body experiences can be harnessed, and leads to a form of demon-like possession? That’s stupid even by my standards. The acting is about as good as it can be in a movie like this, but there’s not much else to it. There was a reason why this sat in my queue for over a year.

In the Mouth of Madness (1994) 4/5

madness

We start with John Trent (Sam Neill) retelling his story to a shrink about why he ended up in a mental institution. Trent was an insurance fraud investigator that was asked to look into the disappearance of popular horror writer Sutter Cane. Cane’s work has been known to cause paranoid delusions, memory loss, and other side effects that normal people don’t experience while reading a book. What follows is 90 minutes of hell that gave me the heebie jeebies. First, this is super disorienting. Trent starts hallucinating, and it’s so vivid that you can’t help but feel like you’re going crazy right along with him. Second, it’s just creepy. If you’ve never seen a “Lovecraftian horror”, you have no idea what you’re in for. It’s a great film, but I don’t think it’s for those that are very easily scared. Also, don’t bother watching it if it comes on TV. The most effective scenes are heavily edited, or taken out completely.

Fight Club (1999) 5/5

fight-club-movie-poster-1999-1020215604

Yes, I am one of about 10 people that never watched this. I am well aware how late I am. Do I really have to tell you what it’s about? Either you’ve seen it, or it was on some top ten lists of greatest twist endings. All I’m going to say it’s awesome, violent, and quite psychotic. Don’t be like me and wait 15 years to see it. Just go ahead and buy it. Trust me.

Leave a Reply

