Rapid Retrospect 4/28- 5/4

There aren’t enough hours in the day. Thanks to monsoons, papers, and life just sucking in general, my movie watching time was cut very short. Thankfully the movies I did see were pretty good.

Tales from the Darkside: The Movie (1990) 4/5

220px-Talesfromthedarkside

It’s your standard anthology, but here we have Debbie Harry who kidnaps a little boy and plans to eat him. The boy distracts her by telling tales from her favorite book. I think all of the stories are very well done, and they aren’t overly cheesy. My personal favorite is Cat from Hell just because of how the cat manages to off people. Unfortunately, this is no longer streaming on Netflix. But it’s entertaining, so I say try to find a cheap copy.

Harold and Maude (1971) 4/5
harold-and-maude
A classic from the 1970s, this is about a guy who gets his kicks by staging suicides and attending the funerals of strangers. He then meets a woman old enough to be his grandmother, and falls in love with her. It sounds bizarre, but it’s really good. I found myself laughing a few times at the “suicides”, only because Harold’s mother just steps over him or ignores him. I can see why this has a lot of fans, and I really enjoyed it.

They Live (1988) 4/5
they_live_xlg
Here’s another classic that I watched for the first time. I had no idea it was this awesome. If you haven’t seen it, it’s about how the world is being taken over by aliens that use subliminal messaging in consumer culture. It’s definitely social commentary, but it’s also interesting how well it has aged. Without getting political, I think the message still has a valid point today. We might not be at the mercy of aliens, but we do “consume” almost anything in sight. If it’s not your thing, at least watch it for the grand reveal. I think that’s the best final sequence I’ve ever seen.

Brain Damage (1988) 4/5
MV5BMTM2OTM1MTY5NF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNjAwMzkyMQ@@._V1_SY317_CR3,0,214,317_AL_
I think film-makers need to take a look at movies like Brain Damage and They Live. You can get a message across without being ridiculously offensive. Brain Damage manages to do just that with a brain eating alien that gives its host one hell of a trip. It’s gory and campy, but once you realize it’s a story about spiraling into drug addiction you can’t help but love it. This is another film from director Frank Henenlotter, who also gave us Frankenhooker and Bad Biology. That should be reason enough to go buy this.

Leave a Reply

