Rapid Retrospect 4/7- 4/13

I wasn’t able to watch that many movies this week. Between school starting and all 4 of my Netflix DVDs being unplayable, I had to improvise. Outside of one film, I really enjoyed what I was able to watch.


Hansel & Gretel (2007) 4/5

movieposter

This is one of the many horror movies involving Hansel and Gretel, but it is very well made. We follow a man that is in a bad car accident, and drifts into the woods for help. There he meets a young girl who leads him to her house. Her parents seem nice, but something isn’t quite right about her siblings. It is a little long (2 hours), but the pacing is done beautifully. There’s not a lot of gore or filler, and it’s just downright creepy. Then again, I think the unofficial rule is children in horror movies are supposed to give you the heebie jeebies.

Oculus (2014) 5/5

Oculus-poster-with-Karen-Gillan

I wanted to see this so bad. I was just worried that the previews were going to be the best parts of the movie. I’m so glad I was wrong. If you haven’t seen previews, this is about some kind of possessed mirror that tricks people to murdering others and/or killing themselves. So far, this is one of the best movies of 2014. It’s very suspenseful, and it’s not you’re traditional horror movies. This one’s all about atmosphere, and it was filmed perfectly. The way the movie drifts between the past and present is so mind-bending, but it fits together so well. I plan on seeing it a couple more times while it’s in theaters, and I can’t wait to add it to my collection later this year.

Bloodsucking Nazi Zombie (1981) 1/5

bloodsucking-nazi-zombies

And now for the blight of the week. I knew it wasn’t going to be good, but my god I didn’t think it was going to be that bad. I think the budget was in the $5-15 range, and it looked like it was filmed with a potato with an Instagram filter. There’s this static that overpowers any dialog, and I think the cameraman kept falling asleep because the camera angle drops down at random moments. I’ll let you guess how good the acting it. All I learned is that if a movie is only $1, there’s a good reason for it.

District 13 (2004) 4/5

MV5BMTA4NTk2OTc0NDBeQTJeQWpwZ15BbWU3MDU0ODgyMzE@._V1_SX214_

I decided to give this a shot since the upcoming Brick Mansions is the American remake of it. I think it’s pretty badass. Yes, it is a parkour action flick, but the fight choreography is fun to watch. The acting probably isn’t the best, but that’s really not what you’re supposed to be paying attention to. I really liked it, and I’m curious about how Brick Mansions will put an American twist on it.

Leave a Reply

