The Sacred (2011)

the-sacred-movie-poster

As you’ve probably already guessed, this horror collection is the bane of my existence. However, I don’t think it’ll end up being as bad as I originally thought. The Sacred is actually somewhat decent. I’m just as shocked as you are. This is about a group of students who travel to…some place to research Native American rituals…or something. It’s not explained that well, and you’re distracted by the actors that are chosen to play students. I’m pretty sure one of them is old enough to be my father, and the rest aren’t far behind.

Anyway, there’s a legend that an area of the woods is haunted by the ghost of those that have died there. How original. But it does become a bit interesting when you find out that those who have committed unforgivable sins will pay for their actions. We also find that our group has some of the most horrid people on this planet. Grandpa beat a dog to death, his girlfriend let an old man choke to death on his own vomit while she was his nurse, snooty rich guy strangled his mother to get his inheritance early, and the token nerd kidnapped, tortured, and murdered a child.

The storytelling is a bit clunky, and I think that’s another major flaw. All things considered, the acting is not that bad. It has a decent budget, and the gore was surprisingly effective. The CGI was terrible, but I was kind of expecting that. I think it’s strong enough to get 3/5. I can’t help but like it. It starts slow, but it does pick up a bit and the payoff is worth the wait. I say it’s good to watch if there’s nothing else on. After seeing this collection might not be all bad, I was looking forward to the next film. Then I realized it was called Zipperface, and it was made in 1992. It’s amazing how quickly my hope can be zapped out of me.

Leave a Reply

