Shiki (2010)

91rgVvGph0L._AA1500_

I don’t know much about this one. It’s on Hulu, and it’s the first anime I started watching after my accident. Only took me 7 months to finish it. It’s not plagued by fan service like Chobits, but the pacing is a little off. It takes a very long time for things to get going. This is an anime that relies heavily on atmosphere and character development, and storytelling takes a backseat.

However, this is really good. It’s about a very small village that suddenly has a rise in deaths after outsiders move into a huge mansion on the hill. Is it just a freak occurrence? Or is there something more sinister at work? I loved how the culprit was slowly revealed. It doesn’t explain everything in the first episode, and it even goes out of its way to throw you off. And to my surprise this was actually pretty creepy at times. I don’t get scared by shows easily, but I’ll admit I jumped a couple times.

The acting is amazing, but considering I believe we have the whole Funimation crew, it’s not that surprising. However, I think this is their best work yet. It’s a very emotional show, but it’s still believable. Everything seemed to fit together perfectly, and it was a lot of fun to watch. I give it 5 out of 5. It’s a different take on an old legend, and the various characters add some extra flair. Go out and buy it. This should be in every anime fan’s collection.

Leave a Reply

