Now You See Me (2013)

MV5BMTY0NDY3MDMxN15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwOTM5NzMzOQ@@._V1_SX640_SY720_

I really wanted to see this when it first came out, but life had other plans. The film is about a group of magicians that steal money, but give it back to people that need it. Yes it is basically Robin Hood if he did magic, but stay with me. The group is called the Four Horsemen, and includes Woody Harrelson, Dave Franco, Isla Fisher, and Jesse Eisenberg. One thing that makes this so good is the all-star cast, and well as the varying personalities of the characters. Everyone brought their A game, and that made this even more fun to watch.

I also have to mention Morgan Freeman and Michael Caine are it in. I believe the argument could be made that’s enough of a reason to see this. However, they don’t play the type of characters you would expect. I won’t say how they fit in to the overall plot, but I can say it was very surprising. And now my favorite part: it was never predictable. We’ve all seen movies where it’s very easy to figure out everything immediately. That cannot be said here. It was written and filmed in a way that makes you fall for the tricks and illusions the same way some of the other characters do.

I kind of wish I hadn’t done my Best Of 2013 list so early. This would’ve been at the top. There’s comedy, action, great writing and acting, and it had hands down the best twist I have ever seen. I give it 5 out of 5. It’s not at all what I expected, and every time I thought I knew what was going to happen I was completely wrong. It’s available on Netflix, but I say you should buy it.

One thought on “Now You See Me (2013)

Leave a Reply

